Wednesday, April 27, 2016

2016 EVA Grand Award Winner and People's Choice Announced!

Last night, April 26th, a group of outstanding young artists were recognized at the ninth annual Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts Reception. This was held at Otterbein University's Miller Gallery with the help of Janice Glowski and Chaz O'Neil. 

The evening began with a student panel discussion featuring the six finalists: 

Grace Gongaware - Cleveland Institute of Art
Jenny Hanf - University of Findlay 
Alice Shockey - Oberlin College
Elmi Ventura Mata - Cleveland Institute of Art
Natalie Wardlaw - Kenyon College
Katherine Zeilman - Columbus College of Art & Design

The discussion was moderated by Otterbein's chair of the art department, Evelyn Davis-Walker. Following the riveting discussion, Jennifer Hall, one of Otterbein's nominees, gave a tour of the art department. 

From there, the reception portion officially began. Audrey Hasson, Otterbein Alumna and Sports Reporter/Multi-Media Journalist for NBC4, spoke as the master of ceremonies. Otterbein's Provost, Dr. Miguel Martinez-Saenz, welcomed everyone to the Miller Gallery and Otterbein's campus. Key sponsors, first and second round judges, nominees, and our sculpture designer were thanked and acknowledged throughout the reception. 
Dr. Miguel Martinez-Saenz warmly welcomes everyone to the Miller Gallery

The Ohio Arts Council Verne Riffe Gallery Exhibition is currently featuring the six finalists and will remain showing until May 5th. Don't forget to check out the artwork before it's too late!

It was then announced that Claire Harvey of Cedarville University is the People's Choice Award Winner. Congratulations Claire!
Todd Jones (right) and Claire Harvey (left) with her award 
Claire Harvey pictured with her piece, Puzzle Pieces. 

The Grand Award Winner receives a $2,500 cash prize, artwork purchased by AICUO, and artwork displayed in Governor Kasich's office for one year. Elmi Ventura Mata of Cleveland Institute of Art is this year's Grand Award Winner! 

Elmi Ventura Mata (left) standing in front of his artwork with Todd Jones and his award
Thank you to everyone who participated in this year's AICUO EVA competition! Visit to see the winners portfolios!

No comments:

Post a Comment