Enter the 2014 Sculpture Design Contest!!

If you are interested in being the student who designs the awards for our finalists this year, please contact with heading "2014 Sculpture Design" or send to:

AICUO Design Competition
ATTN: Matt Soppelsa
41 South High Street, Suite 2424
Columbus, OH 43215

If you are interested fill out this form to send our way! Thanks and good luck!

Eric Rausch, 2014 EVAs Sculptor

This year, local artist Eric Rausch will be the professional who fabricates the winning design for the Sculpture Design portion of our Awards. Check out his website at !!

Congratulations Meg Leatherman!

Meg Leatherman is the 2013 Sculpture Design Contest Winner. She attends Bluffton University. She will be working with Dave Bowers to create the final four awards for the 2013 finalists. Thank you to all who participated in the contest! Never before have we had that many participants, and we enjoyed looking at each entry.

Runner Up: Megan Elaser from Bluffton University

Introducing: Dave Bowers 

Our 2013 Awards Sculptor!

Dave will be creating nine awards out of his signature material, Ohioan wood. Dave is an Ohioan artist that lives in Central Ohio, and has been featured in national woodworking competitions. 

We are now calling for submissions for the 2013 Sculpture Design Contest! We need designs for the Grand Award and the People's Choice Award. 

We need two designs:
1. Grand Award
2. People's Choice Award

Design will be made in wood, and will not exceed 16."

Drawings, digital designs, or three dimensional models are welcome for design media.

Any student enrolled part time/full time at a participating university is eligible to submit entries.
Deadline: October 22, 2012
Email submissions to Lindsay Martin, Art Awards Coordinator:
Or send to:
Attn: Lindsay Martin
41 South High Street
Suite 2424
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Include name of designer, home institution, contact information, and a short paragraph that explains concept of the designs. 

Dave Bowers and AICUO will be judging entries and will notify the winner by November 15th, 2012. Once the designer is picked, he/she will be required to meet with the artist and plan out the award. The designer will receive a certificate, an honorable mention and award at the Annual EVA Awards Reception, as well as online and published press. This is a great opportunity to build up portfolios and gain recognition within the art departments of Ohioan colleges. Winner will receive exhibit at reception, a certificate from AICUO, website article and blog posting, and their work will be exhibited in the offices of AICUO in downtown Columbus.

Previous Posts:

Congratulations Hannah Mason-Macklin, our Design Winner.

Thank you Bryan Kossmann, our Sculpture Ceramics artist for our 2012 awards!
You can see Bryan's work at:
Our finished Awards:

AICUO EVA Award for 2013 needs a new sculptor! We are now looking for Columbus area artists that specialize in three dimensional works for our 2013 awards. Please email Lindsay at if you are interested. 

We have our winner! Be on the look out for sketches and photos of the awards in April!


We need new award designs for the 2012 AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts. Check out last years winner, Caleb Boller from the Columbus College of Art and Design. You can see Caleb's design here! Also check out a few past years designs down below.

Students of all grade levels can enter in the sculpture design contest that supplements the AICUO Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts. It allows students the opportunity to design the shape of the physical awards given to AICUO Award winners. The winning sculpture designer works with a local professional artist to bring the designs to life. There is no entry fee for this competition, and all students from Ohio's independent colleges are eligible to enter. Sketches and an artist statement are the only entry requirements. For a pdf of the entry form and more information, click on the links below.

The winner receives:
- recognition at the AICUO Art Award reception
- the chance to work with a professional sculpture artist
- a prize package at the reception worth hundreds of dollars
- recognition on the AICUO Art Award site and blog

Please send questions to: 
with the subject "Design Competition Entry",

Or by regular mail to:

AICUO Design Competition
ATTN: Cindy Ellis
41 South High Street, Suite 2424
Columbus, OH 43215

The deadline for the 2011 contest is January 13, 2012.

Click on the links below for more information.

Contest Information

Entry Form

Entry Example part 1

Entry Example part 2

Here are some images of past award designs:

2011 Award in process, by artist Jesse Mills, based off
Design Competition Winner Caleb Boller sketches. 

The 2010 Grand Award Design, by artist Linda Diec,
was based on a  certain strain of a virus.

The 2009 Award Designs, by local artist Jason Antol,
were based on the human heart.