2016 Judges

Judges for the AICUO Art Award are handpicked in an attentive selection process designed to create a diverse jury every year. 

First Round Judges

The first round judges are faculty members from college art departments in every region of Ohio. These instructors are faculty members who are either recommended by their department chairs or who have been noticed for their outstanding work outside of school. 

Philip Sugden

Phillip Sugden’s work has been exhibited in more than 90 solo and 130 group shows internationally including galleries and museums in New York, Los Angeles, London, Paris, Washington DC, Melbourne, and Kathmandu. He is currently an Assistant Professor of Fine Arts at Bluffton University. Sudden previously served as a judge in 2009 and 2015.

Institution Website: http://www.bluffton.edu/art/faculty/
Artist Website: http://philipsugden.com

Valerie Escobedo

Valerie Escobedo teaches introductory through senior level courses in painting, drawing, printmaking and 2-D design. Currently, Valerie serves as the Chair for the Department of Visual and Performing Arts for the University of Findlay. Escobedo previously served as a judge in 2009, 2010, and 2015.
Website: https://www.findlay.edu/search/Faculty-Staff?fsid=escobedo

Craig Lloyd is an associate professor in the Department of Art, Fine Art and Art Education. He teaches courses in drawing, design, printmaking, painting, art history and computer graphics at Mount Saint Joseph University. This is Lloyd's second year serving as a first round judge.
Website: http://www.msj.edu/contact/faculty-directory/craig-lloyd/

Jim Allen has received his M.A. and M.F.A. from Bowling Green State University and his B.S. from The Ohio State University. He has been a Professor of Art at the University of Rio Grande since 1987. This is Allen's second year serving as a first round judge.
Website: http://www.rio.edu/jallen/view-faculty-member.cfm

David E. Williamson received his M.F.A. from Virginia Commonwealth University and now is a Professor of Art for Baldwin Wallace University. His areas of expertise include ceramics and jewelry. This is Williamson's second year serving as a first round judge.

Jeffrey Cortland Jones is a painter based in Cincinnati, Ohio and teaches at University of Dayton. He sees painting as a physical activity and a material process rather than as a language that conveys narrative meaning. This is Jones' second year serving as a first round judge.

Kathy McGhee works as an associate professor in fine arts, and area coordinator of printmaking at the Columbus College of Art and Design.  She teaches introductory, intermediate and advanced printmaking. This is McGhee's second year serving as a first round judge. 
Institution Website: http://www.ccad.edu/programs-of-study/faculty-bios/m-o
Artist Website: http://kathymcghee.weebly.com

Dan McInnis

Dan McInnis received his BFA in Film, Photography and the Visual Arts from Ithaca College and received his MFA in Photography from Savannah College of Art and Design. He now teaches at Wittenberg University. His other areas of interest or study include: contemporary photographic theory, mass media and gender, vintage group photography, and histories of photography. McInnis previously served as a judge in 2011 and 2013.
Institution Website: http://www.wittenberg.edu/academics/art/facultystaff/danmcInnis.html
Artist Website: http://www.danieljamesmcinnis.com

Priscilla Roggenkamp

Priscilla Roggenkamp has taught at The College of Wooster and Mount Union College among other out-of-state universities and currently teaches at Ashland University. She works with fellow artist Keith McMahon on collaborated sculptures and other pieces. Roggenkamp previously served as a first round judge in 2011.
Institution Website: https://www.ashland.edu/cas/faculty-staff/priscilla-roggenkamp
Artist Website: http://studio-twofourteen.com
Lee Fearnside

Lee Fearnside works as the Curator of Diane Kidd Gallery and Associate Professor of Art at Tiffin University. In her own work, she creates projects using photography and video to explore issues of body image, sexuality, gentrification, and the creation of history. This is Fearnside's first year participating as a judge. 
Website: http://www.tiffin.edu/artsci/faculty/

Amanda Kline

Amanda Kline teaches at Otterbein University with interests in performance for the camera, women and gender studies, and history. This is Kline's first year participating as a judge in the competition. 
Institution Website: http://www.otterbein.edu/public/About/Faculty/AmandaKline.aspx
Artist Website: https://vimeo.com/user16571660/videos

Kathy Buszkiewicz

Kathy Buszkiewicz teaches at the Cleveland Institute of Art in the Jewelry and Metals Department. She has received three Individual Artist Fellowships from the Ohio Arts Council and the Viktor Schreckengost Teaching Award from CIA. Buszkiewicz previously participated as a first round judge in 2010 and 2011.
Institution Website: http://www.cia.edu/academics/jewelry-metals/faculty/kathy-buszkiewicz
Artist Website: http://www.valueandmeaning.com/index.html
Second Round Judges

The second round judges group consists of professionals who have received widespread and local recognition in the arts. They are accomplished art directors, curators, administrators, working artists, organization leaders and one Ohio government representative.

Molly Burke

This is Burke's second year participating in our competition. For the 2015 Awards competition, she worked with a student artist last year to create the physical awards. Burke typically works in ceramic art and glass. 
Visit her personal website: https://mollyjburke.wordpress.com

Stacy Leeman

Leeman is returning from the last competition serving as a second round judge. She is an abstract painter represented by the Sharon Weiss Gallery in Columbus. Leeman earned her BA in studio art from Oberlin and her MFA from Rutgers University. 
For more on Leeman, visit her website: http://stacyleeman.com

Lauryn King

King is the 2015 Grand Award Winner for our competition. She is a graduate of Xavier University and works in sculpture, ceramics, and fiber arts. 
To view her profile from the competition visit: http://aicuoartaward.com/aicuoEVAs15/portfolio.aspx?pID=124
Visit her website at: http://www.laurynoking.com

Mark Zuzik

Zuzik works at Pizzuti Collection as the Programs Coordinator in Columbus, Ohio. This is his first year serving as a judge for the competition.  Learn more about Pizzuti Collection at: http://pizzuticollection.org/about/

Todd Camp

Camp previously participated in 2009 and 2010 as a second round judge. Camp is a graduate of the Columbus College of Art and Design and works at the Cultural Arts Center in Columbus as the Assistant Arts Administrator.  Camp creates mixed media and abstract paintings.
Visit Camp's website at: http://www.toddcampart.com
Or watch his Artist Profile on PBS Broad & High done by last year second round jury member, Audrey Hasson. 

Mark Bush

Bush is a recent graduate from the Columbus College of Art and Design. He majored in Fine Arts with an emphasis in representational painting and drawing. Bush primarily creates realism paintings.

Kate Manecke

Manecke is the art journalist host for WOSU's Season 3 of Broad and High. Visit her on their website: http://wosu.org/2012/broadandhigh/about/

Wynter Whiteside

Whiteside previously participated as a second round judge in 2012 and 2013. She is an independent curator and fine artist. Whiteside graduated from the Columbus College of Art and Design. 
Visit her website: http://www.wynterwhiteside.com

Capri Cafaro

Cafaro is an Ohio State Democratic Senator representing District 32. She has represented this area since January 2007 and sits on the Higher Education Subcommittee as Vice Chair. 
To learn more visit: http://ohiosenate.gov/cafaro